The Nacogdoches Independent School District revealed today (3/1) that Dr. Katherine P. Whitbeck, student council advisor at Nacogdoches High School, has been named by District 4 of the Texas Association of Student Councils (TASC) as the 2021-2022  High School Advisor of the Year for the district.

Whitbeck, who’s in her 37th year of teaching, has been a driving force in guiding students within the school district.  She is a nominee for the TASC Eddie G. Bull State Advisor of the Year and will be recognized at the 2022 TASC State Conference in April.

Whitbeck has served as student council advisor at NHS for 10 years and has guided her council to 10 consecutive TASC Community Service, Outstanding DASH, Outstanding Energy and Environment, Outstanding Pride and Patriotism, Outstanding Student Council, and Sweepstakes Awards. The NHS student council has also earned the National Student Council of Excellence Award twice. 

With Whitbeck as an advisor, the NHS student council has served as parliamentarian and president of TASC District 4 and currently serves as treasurer school. Whitbeck has also served as coordinator for District 4. NHS hosted the District 4 Fall Conference in 2015 and co-hosted the Spring Conference with Central Heights in 2022. 

“The success of our student council is a direct reflection of Dr. Whitbeck’s energy, expertise and commitment to excellence,” said NHS Principal Stephen Autrey. “Our students are committed to making student council an important part of our campus, and Dr. Whitbeck is committed to providing the leadership necessary to make that work.

“We’re both grateful and proud of her accomplishments.”

TASC is the largest state student council organization in the United States with over 1000 member schools, each with a strong advisor; Whitbeck represents those outstanding council advisors across the state who give of their time and knowledge to ensure student success.


Teacher of the Day Nominations - Spring 2022

Here are some of the area teachers who have been nominated for the KICKS 105/Whataburger Teacher of the Day. At the end of each semester, one teacher is given a $1,000 classroom grant.

More From Newstalk 860