Two of Lufkin's Christian radio stations -- KSWP and KAVX -- have opened the floor for nominations from the general public for their annual Community Impact Awards East Texas. These awards are given to recognize people and organizations who strive to enrich their their communities, and improve the lives of the people who live in them.

The awards celebrate the values, citizenry, and quality of life that's unique to our community, by honoring the people whose unselfish service, sacrifice and commitment make east Texas a great place to live and work.

The Community Impact Awards East Texas are given in four categories:

Non-Profit Organization




This year's awards nominations have been extended to 13 counties around Lufkin. People in those counties are invited to nominate one person or organization in each of the four categories.  Nomination forms can be found on the website shown below, and at any Brookshire Brothers supermarket in the following 13 counties:

Angelina, Cherokee, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Panola, Polk, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Trinity and Tyler counties.

The deadline for submitting nominations is June 1st.  The award recipients will be honored at the Awards Gala on August 10th at the Pitser Garrison Civic Center in Lufkin.

More From Newstalk 860