The Angelina College Police Academy graduated 26 new cadets in a ceremony inside AC’s Hudgins Hall Auditorium which was held on Monday, December 7.

According to release from Gary Stallard from Angelina College, A.C. Police Chief Doug Conn addressed Class 107 for their dedication to completing the rigorous course – and reminded them to take the same dedication into their careers in law enforcement.

“Our ceremony may be a virtual one, but graduating a police academy is honorable no matter how you do it,” Conn said. “You’re going to leave here, and you’re going to find your niche in law enforcement. When you do, you follow it as far as you can.

“Anything you can do to serve your community, you do it. It’s important to do your job in a professional and ethical manner. If something seems like it’s wrong, it probably is.”

Newstalk 860 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Angelina College was issued a license to operate a police academy in 12 East Texas counties in September of 1993 by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE). The academy offers basic and in-service training courses at sites throughout Deep East Texas with the assistance of an advisory board which assists in directing the academy.

The graduating cadets of Class 107 included Marcus Bailey (Livingston, TX), Chondra Beaty, Kendall Benfer (Livingston, TX), Victoria Brooks (Livingston, TX), James Copeland (Garrison, TX), Jordan Courtney (Zavalla, TX), Jake Forman (Lufkin, TX), Darien Francis (Houston, TX), Gustavo Garcia (Lufkin, TX), Jonathan Gomez (Huntsville, TX), Korey Kirkpatrick (Livingston, TX), Joseph Lewien (Colmesneil, TX), Adam McDowell (Onalaska, TX), Jared Miller (Rusk, TX), Dustin Montgomery (Livingston, TX), Michael Murff (Crockett, TX), Kimberly Reed (Lovelady, TX), Kasey Ryan (Newton, TX), Jesse Shaver (Jasper, TX), Thomas Smith (Jacksonville, NC), Coty Sterling (Buna, TX), Seth Thompson (Huntsville, TX), Robert Twine (Huntsville, TX), Travis Vaughn (Milam, TX), Zachery White (Lufkin, TX) and Shawn Wood (Jasper, TX).

The class valedictorian was Thomas Smith; the Top Gun and Best Driver awards recipient was Marcus Bailey.

Academy staff members include Doug Conn, Chief of Police; Lt. Jason Burrous, Training Manager; Lt. Randy Holland, Training Manager; Officer Jack Stephenson, Training Specialist; and Kim Capps, Administrative Assistant.


KEEP READING: These are the top 6 scams connected to the pandemic

More From Newstalk 860