The Texas Main Street Program is expanding, and the First Lady of Texas is visiting three East Texas towns today mark the occasion.

First Lady, Anita Thigpen Perry, is joining the Texas Historical Commission to recognize three cities that have recently been inducted into the Texas Main Street Program:  San Augustine, Cuero, and Childress.  Those cities are part of a program now that aims to revitalize and preserve historic downtown areas.

Lufkin is already a member of the Main Street Program, and in fact there's a Main Street Hoedown coming up the third Saturday in April.  Lufkin Main Street came to be in 1983 and the group says on its website, "since that time has become the longest standing Main Street city in Texas."