Over the past 8 years, KICKS 105 and Whataburger have teamed up to award an East Texas educator a $1,000 classroom grant at the end of every semester. Nominations are taken through the KICKS 105 App 

Newstalk 860 logo
Get our free mobile app

, and a deserving teacher is surprised with a visit from Danny Merrell and Whataguy.

Thursday, May 23 marked the last day of class for the faculty and students at Sarah Strinden Elementary (Pineywoods Community Academy). Less than two hours before early dismissal, the crew from KICKS 105 and Whataburger, surprised the classroom of Mrs. Cali Hollers.

We loved that her husband brought along a surprised gift, as well.

Here is the Winning Nomination

My son had a rough experience in pre-K in a different district. He was bullied by students and teachers. He hated school. When I moved him to PCA, Cali took him under her wing and has showed him what a great teacher acts like. She is truly the kindest, most generous, and most caring person I have ever met. She showed my son how to love school and succeed at everything he does. We love Cali!

Nominate a Teacher Today

It's easy to nominate teachers, just click here and follow the instructions. Just before the start of the Christmas break, we will be surprising yet another teacher with $1,000.

Previous Winners

  • Brandy Hughes - Huntington ISD
  • Felicia Arnold - Dunbar Primary (Lufkin)
  • Amanda Venegas - Brookhollow Elementary (Lufkin)
  • Heather Jacks - Thomas J Rusk (Nacogdoches ISD)
  • Cessali Williams - Lufkin High School
  • Mandy Cordova - Central ISD
  • Rebecca LeBoulanger - Pineywoods Community Academy
  • Gina Hodges - Temple Elementary (Diboll ISD)
  • Bobbie Morgan - Hudson Middle School
  • Kim Flores - St. Cyprian's
  • William Weeks - Peavy Primary (Hudson ISD)
  • Marissa Martin - Central Heights Elementary
  • KK Brown - Central Elementary
  • Dawn Ryan - Martinsville ISD

KICKS 105/Whataburger Teacher of the Day $1,000 Winners

Every semester KICKS 105 teams up with Whataburger to award an area teacher a $1,000 classroom grant. Here's a look at the winning teachers so far.

Gallery Credit: Danny Merrell

2024 Senior Salute Graduates

Gallery Credit: Danny Merrell