New Residency Requirements for Texas Driver Licenses and IDs
Under a new state law that goes into effect Monday May 7th, anyone who applies for a new Texas driver’s license or ID card will need to show proof that they have lived in the state at least 30 days.
To meet the residency requirement, an applicant must present two acceptable documents establishing proof of residency, one of which must show that the applicant has lived in Texas at least 30 days
The DPS says it will waive the 30-day requirement for applicants who can show and surrender a valid unexpired out-of-state driver’s license, but they will still have to show two documents establishing proof of residence.
The two documents must be issued by different companies or agencies. For example, you cannot use both a water bill and electricity bill from the same company.
There’s more information, and a list of the kinds of documents that can be used to prove residency on the DPS website:
via TxDPS –.